If a smartphone / tablet on OS Android starts to freeze or fail for unknown reasons, there is no need to rush to bring it to the master in the service center. There is no small chance to solve your problem by performing a factory reset on Android. But only after its completion, all the settings will return to the factory settings, that is, returning to the state in which you purchased the device, all data stored on the device’s memory (applications, contacts, photos) will also be erased, and everything that is stored on your USB flash drive will remain not touched.
So, how to perform a general reset on Android, it is also called “Full” or “Hard Reset” (HR) and why is it needed at all? A complete reset of Android is recommended to be used if, for example, the tablet does not work stably, or the use is not as comfortable as it was when buying. You can do it in several ways, which I will discuss below. Before performing a Reset, it is recommended that you back up the most important data.
Method 1: Software Reset
This option is such that the system is reset using a standard feature, which is available in any Android system.
To do this, we need to go to Settings / Backup and reset / Reset settings. After which a warning will be displayed saying that all data will be deleted, and there will be a confirmation button “Reset Settings” at the bottom. It will be necessary to confirm the action with the virtual button “Erase everything”, after which the system will be restored to the factory settings.
Method 2: Using Code
To implement it, you just need to open the number entry and dial 27673855 #, after entering the system will immediately reset. No confirmation will be requested from the user.
Method 3: Using Wipe
What is it and how to make Wipe on Android?
It happens when the gadget does not respond practically / completely to nothing, then when you turn on the device, you must simultaneously press the "Power", "Volume Down" and / or "Home button or properties" button, depending on the manufacturer and type of device. This combination must be held down until Recovery Mode is activated. In this window, you need to select the “Wipe” section and confirm your choice with the “Shutdown” or “Home” key to reset the device.
After HR, you may usually want to restore the device from backup. But the problem that was before the reset can be saved in your backup, for example, somewhere in the settings or some application that you had installed. Therefore, I advise you to configure your device from scratch by driving in your Google account data, installing the necessary applications from the market, etc. The only thing you can with res. copies restore contacts and SMS, they usually do not affect the system.
Those who have “alternative” firmware should keep in mind that HR does not touch those areas that store additional firmware installed by you. Therefore, all sorts of mods and changes in the software of the OS will not be deleted from the memory of your device. In other words, after you installed a non-native firmware, after HR, your factory firmware, which was installed after purchasing the device, will not return.